Home

FIST

I told him I didn’t like them, they’re boring, their songs go on and on forever and they repeat the same riffs over and over, now quiet, now loud, now fast, now slow.

And he said, take it back, take it back right now, or I’ll fucking do you.

So I said, calm down. It’s just an opinion. You probably hate things I love too.

But he was having none of it. He stood up, pushed his chair back so hard it toppled over, and shouted, come on then, get up, you wee fuck. Say that again.

And I said, look, there’s no need to get angry, we’re just exchanging views. Can’t we agree to disagree?

But he couldn’t. He lunged across the table, grabbed my t-shirt and threw me out of my chair. Then he jumped on me and shouted, his face in mine, take it back, take it back right now.

I said, I thought we already established I can’t. Beating me up’s not going to help.

And he said, aye, it might not, but stabbing you will.

So I said, no it won’t. I’ll have just been stabbed. My opinion wouldn’t have changed.

And he said, and when you’re dead?

I said, I’ll be dead, but my opinion will still be the same.

And he said, yeah?

And I said, yes.

Then he let go of me and knelt up and said, what’s an opinion if you cannae express it?

So I smiled, thinking it was over, and said, exactly.

And he said, what?

So I repeated, exactly – what’s an opinion if you can’t express it? I’m agreeing with you.

And he said, agreeing with me about what?

I said, expressing an opinion. There’s no point in having one if you can’t express it.

And he said, exactly, pulled out a knife and said: And you won’t be able to.

58 thoughts on “A Difference of Opinion

  1. This is an awesome way to present an ill that is epidemic in the world. The mighty do not like a difference of opinion.

    Reminds me of ‘The darkest corners of hell are reserved for those who maintain their neutrality in moral crisis’.

    Enjoyed reading this one 🙂

  2. I love your stories. This like the other one with the girl who was murdered by the cabbie, the character spoke out of turn and might have lived to tell the tale had they just shut up 🙂

  3. Pingback: the 2013 Nominees – Best Short/Long Story Post (fiction or nonfiction) | Kendall F. Person, thepublicblogger

Leave a Reply

